Posted by: Peter Scott | November 3, 2005

UKOUG 2005

Three days in Birmingham completed and my first ever UKOUG conference over. Like others, I found the prospect of a conference of this size somewhat daunting – would the sessions go over my head, would I fit in, would people interact with me in the networking sessions? As it turns out things were brilliant (well apart from a lack of power on the first day that delayed things by an hour). There were some great sessions and I met some really good people, right from standing in the registration queue next to Jeff Moss through to the last presentation on the last day from Connor McDonald.
One surprise was how many people recognised me from photo on this blog (and Mark Rittman's comment about my grey eyebrows), another trigger for people recognising me was the somewhat large picture of me that appeared in Tom Kyte's keynote speech.
I'll have to see if I am allowed to speak next time…

Leave a Reply

Categories

